Bluewater Grill

Leave a comment

Happy dietitian day! A perfect day to get started with a brand new client, Bluewater Grill. Bluewater Grill is a fish restaurant with a location right on the water in Newport Beach. My boyfriend and I ate there a few months ago, and it was spectacular! I ordered the scallops and he ordered the mahi-mahi.
So here is how it all went down. Last week on a whim, I called a few restaurants in Newport Beach, telling them about myself and explaining what I could do for their menu. When I spoke to Jim, a proprietor of Bluewater Grill, he immediately loved what I had to tell him and he set up a meeting with me and Michelle.
Today we met Jim at Bluewater Grill located in the District. Jim was upset since his head chef passed away a couple days ago, however he was extremely welcoming and excited to speak with us.
Jim showed us through the restaurant menu and the healthy menu which he himself created a few years ago. Michelle and I immediately saw errors on the healthy menu, such as recipes high in fats and oils. We were also shown the children’s menu, which features a Bento box with free range chicken. Jim ordered a couple of items off the menu for us, including the revamped Caesar kale salad, and the Ahi tuna dish. He then toured us around the restaurant, which was absolutely beautiful!
After a couple hours of getting to know Jim and his vision for the restaurant, we were given the job of revamping the healthy menu & children’s menu, labeling food items on the restaurant menu and hosting children’s cooking classes.
Now Michelle and I will be working our butts off to produce high-quality and healthy food items as well as planning the children program. We are currently looking into adding foods such as black rice, edamame, quinoa and kale to the menu.
Wish us luck and stay tuned for our final product! I plan on posting picture blogs of some of the recipes.
Thanks for reading!

20140312-205739.jpg

Author: April Murray

Hi, I’m April! Welcome to The Thin Kitchen, a blog that delivers engaging, colorful content aimed at both weight loss and providing healthy recipes and dietitian tips! I’m a Registered Dietitian, food lover and health enthusiast. I grew up in Orange County and currently live in Newport Beach with my miniature Australian Shepard named Lucy. The information and tips that I’ll provide you are a direct reflection of what’s in my kitchen, and of how I live my own life. I hope that my recipes and posts inspire you to continue on a path toward your healthiest, fittest, happiest you. xoxo April (and Lucy)

Leave a Reply

