Edamame Hummus

Leave a comment

20140318-195147.jpg

Recently I’ve been working with a local restaurant, The Bluewater Grill, helping them add healthier options to their menu! Kinda doesn’t feel like work since I get to taste new foods and come up with tasty new recipes… and it’s a fish restaurant which is my fav…

Edamame hummus is a recipe I thought would be fun and different.  Not only does it taste good, it is high in omega-3’s, antioxidants and fiber. It pairs well with raw veggies and as a spread for sandwiches.

20140318-193746.jpg

Edamame Hummus


Yields: 6 servings // Prep time: 10 minutes // Cook time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup frozen shelled edamame or fresh edamame
  • 1/2 cup canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 3/4 teaspooon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

20140318-193829.jpg

1. Start by boiling frozen edamame in salted water for 4 to 5 minutes, or microwave, covered, for 2 to 3 minutes. No need to boil if you are using fresh edamame.

2.In a food processor, puree the edamame, tahini, water, lemon zest and juice, garlic, salt, cumin, and coriander until smooth. With the motor running, slowly drizzle in 2 tablespoons of the olive oil.

3. Transfer to a small bowl, stir in the parsley.

20140318-194030.jpg

20140318-194158.jpg

Author: April Murray

Hi, I’m April! Welcome to The Thin Kitchen, a blog that delivers engaging, colorful content aimed at both weight loss and providing healthy recipes and dietitian tips! I’m a Registered Dietitian, food lover and health enthusiast. I grew up in Orange County and currently live in Newport Beach with my miniature Australian Shepard named Lucy. The information and tips that I’ll provide you are a direct reflection of what’s in my kitchen, and of how I live my own life. I hope that my recipes and posts inspire you to continue on a path toward your healthiest, fittest, happiest you. xoxo April (and Lucy)

Leave a Reply

