Leave a comment

20140313-205245.jpg

Not gonna lie, this was my first time roasting a whole chicken. I had a serious dilemma whether or not to invite friends over to try the dish, but I decided to play it safe and just have Matt over. I figured any chicken leftovers would make a great lunch the next day. I came across this recipe on marthastewart.com but made a few tweaks to make it more user friendly. I definitely dare you to make this yourself! It’s quite an impressive dish and actually much easier than I expected it to be!

20140313-205350.jpg

Roasted Chicken with ginger, lime and chili


Serves: 4 // Prep time: 30 min // Total time: 1 hour 30 min

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chili paste
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • Sea salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 whole chicken, 5 pounds
  • 2 large onions, thickly sliced
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges, optional

20140313-211320.jpg

20140313-212601.jpg

Directions:

1. Start by purchasing a whole raw chicken. I used a 5lb chicken. You’ll also need to purchase cotton kitchen twine to fasten the legs, and a food thermometer.

2. Mix together the butter, lime, cumin, chili paste, shallots and ginger in a small bowl. Then set aside.

20140313-210129.jpg

3. Next preheat the oven and get started on the chicken. I drained all the excess juices from the chicken by simply holding it above the sink and gently pressing it. If your chicken comes with the bag of gizzards inside, be sure to remove it before you get started!

4. Gently loosen the skin from the chicken breast. Using a small spoon, insert butter mixture evenly between skin and meat. Pat skin back down.

20140313-205851.jpg

5. Tie chicken legs together using cotton kitchen twine, and the wing tips under the legs. Rub the remaining butter evenly over the chicken and season generously with salt and pepper.

6. Arrange onions in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet and place chicken on top.

7. Roast chicken until browned and thermometer reads 175°. Be sure thermometer is not touching bone. This takes approximately 40 to 50 minutes.

20140313-212230.jpg

8. Transfer chicken to cutting board and let rest at least 10 minutes before cutting. Serve with onions and lemon if desired!

20140314-110316.jpg

20140313-211539.jpg

20140313-211744.jpg

The chicken pairs well with a green salad dressed with lemon vinaigrette and roasted red potatoes.

Author: April Murray

Hi, I’m April! Welcome to The Thin Kitchen, a blog that delivers engaging, colorful content aimed at both weight loss and providing healthy recipes and dietitian tips! I’m a Registered Dietitian, food lover and health enthusiast. I grew up in Orange County and currently live in Newport Beach with my miniature Australian Shepard named Lucy. The information and tips that I’ll provide you are a direct reflection of what’s in my kitchen, and of how I live my own life. I hope that my recipes and posts inspire you to continue on a path toward your healthiest, fittest, happiest you. xoxo April (and Lucy)

Leave a Reply

