Miso Glazed Salmon with Cilantro Sauce

14 Comments

20140324-154512.jpg

My favorite salmon recipe. Hands down.

The reason this salmon is my favorite? It literally melts in your mouth like butter.. and it’s healthy! It looks fancy but it’s actually very simple to prepare. This was my first time cooking with white miso and I enjoyed how savory and sweet it tasted with the salmon. My boyfriend and I make this at least twice a month because we can never get enough of it. I definitely recommend making this dish!

(This salmon recipe is a modified version of the original recipe from the cookbook Power Foods.)

20140324-154600.jpg

Miso Glazed Salmon with Cilantro Sauce {One of my favorites!!!}


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white miso
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar (unseasoned)
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar plus 2 teaspoons
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 4 fresh skinless wild Alaskan salmon filets (6oz each)
  • 1 cup packed cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice, 3 limes
  • 1/2 shallot, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 small fresh jalapeno, chopped (ribs and seeds removed)
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • 1 2-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil

20140324-154633.jpg
Start by adding the miso, vinegar, 1/4 cup brown sugar and water to a medium saucepan. Cook this over medium heat and stir occasionally until the miso and sugar are dissolved. Be sure not to boil! This only takes a few minutes.

20140324-155734.jpg

Let the glaze cool to room temperature, about 10 minutes. Place the salmon into shallow dish (or large resealable bag) and add the miso mixture. Be sure to completely coat the salmon… you want the yumminess to spread all over.

Let this marinate in the fridge for one hour.

20140324-154942.jpg
While the salmon is marinating, you can start on the sauce! This about the time I open the bottle of sake with my bf.

Puree the cilantro, lime juice, shallot, jalapeno, garlic, ginger, oil and remaining brown sugar in a food processor or blender until sauce is smooth. The finished product should have a bright green color, add more cilantro if you need to! The cilantro sauce has a very intense flavor on it’s own but works extremely well with the salmon.

20140324-154658.jpg20140324-155316.jpg
Next, heat the broiler and place the rack about 8 inches from the heat source. Wipe off any excess marinade from the salmon and place filets in baking dish.

Broil filets for about 5 to 6 minutes, until they are cooked through. (I like mine seared in the middle). Using a large spoon, add cilantro sauce to each plate. Put the salmon on top of the cilantro sauce and serve! I enjoy this dish without any sides since it tastes so good on it’s own!

20140324-155343.jpg
Matt and I like to pair our salmon with sake… cheers :)

20140324-155424.jpg
Doesn’t this make you hungry??

20140324-155501.jpg

20140324-155539.jpg

10253873_10102613983348243_5227540214325402751_n

Author: April Murray

Hi, I’m April! Welcome to The Thin Kitchen, a blog that delivers engaging, colorful content aimed at both weight loss and providing healthy recipes and dietitian tips! I’m a Registered Dietitian, food lover and health enthusiast. I grew up in Orange County and currently live in Newport Beach with my miniature Australian Shepard named Lucy. The information and tips that I’ll provide you are a direct reflection of what’s in my kitchen, and of how I live my own life. I hope that my recipes and posts inspire you to continue on a path toward your healthiest, fittest, happiest you. xoxo April (and Lucy)

14 thoughts on “Miso Glazed Salmon with Cilantro Sauce

  1. Yum! I’m always looking for ways to get my carnivore of a husband to eat more fish. I’ll try this on him, it looks delicous :-)

  2. I love salmon! Adding cilantro sauce sounds interesting! Never had it before. Will give it a go

  3. This does make me hungry. Thank you so much!

  4. looks really good. I’m wondering how the glaze would work on other proteins – ever tried it on chicken breast for example?

  5. Great! I love salmon! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. Looks delicious! Salmon is one of my favorite fishes.

  7. Hi April, what a nice recipe, and photographed beautifully. I’ve wanted to try miso-glazed salmon for a long time, and your post has reminded me to do this soon!

Leave a Reply

