Paleo Sweet Potato Hash {Yummy Overload}

4 Comments

 

 

unnamed (9)

This Valentine’s Day weekend, I had so much fun experimenting with Paleo recipes! This was by far my favorite recipe- especially since it’s breakfast- my favorite meal ever. This sweet potato hash is full of flavor and of course, low in calories. The most difficult part was grating the sweet potato, be careful not to cut yourself during this step! I used a Julienne Peeler
– but you can also use the Julienne blade on a food processor to save time. For more Paleo recipes, I recommend Eat Drink Paleo.

unnamed (7)

Paleo Sweet Potato Hash {Yummy Overload}


Yields 1-2 servings // Prep Time: 10-20 minutes // Cook time 10 minutes

Ingredients:

For the Hash:

  • 1 large yam or sweet potato
  • A pinch of salt
  • Several turns of freshly ground black pepper
  • A few shakes of garlic powder
  • A few shakes of onion powder
  • A sprinkle dried herbs (I used oregano)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)

For the Eggs:

  • 2 large eggs (1 per serving)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)

unnamed (1)

Directions:

  1. Peel a yam using a peeler or sharp knife.
  2. Shred the yam into thin, uniform strips using a Julienne Peeler
  3. Transfer the shredded yams to a large bowl and toss with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders, and dried herbs. Taste the mixture and adjust the seasoning.unnamed (4)
  4. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. When the oil is shimmering, add the seasoned sweet potatoes/yams.
  5. Toss everything in the fat and stir-fry for a minute. Then, pop on a lid for a few more minutes while the yams cook. unnamed (3)
  6. The hash is ready when there’s some crunchy brown bits and texture is soft and tender.
  7. Cook eggs by heating oil in a medium pan over medium-low heat. Once oil is hot, crack two eggs into a bowl and pour gently into the hot pan.unnamed (2)
  8. Season the eggs with salt and pepper, and cover with a lid for 2-3 minutes, depending on how runny you like your yolks.
  9. Once they’re done, carefully slide them out of the skillet and on top of a mound of hash.

unnamed (8)

1-full-Cover

 Eat Drink Paleo

10253873_10102613983348243_5227540214325402751_n

Author: April Murray

Hi, I’m April! Welcome to The Thin Kitchen, a blog that delivers engaging, colorful content aimed at both weight loss and providing healthy recipes and dietitian tips! I’m a Registered Dietitian, food lover and health enthusiast. I grew up in Orange County and currently live in Newport Beach with my miniature Australian Shepard named Lucy. The information and tips that I’ll provide you are a direct reflection of what’s in my kitchen, and of how I live my own life. I hope that my recipes and posts inspire you to continue on a path toward your healthiest, fittest, happiest you. xoxo April (and Lucy)

4 thoughts on “Paleo Sweet Potato Hash {Yummy Overload}

  1. This looks so delicious! I’m always looking for more things I can do with sweet potatoes. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Lean Little Lisa

Leave a comment